Crockpot Turkey Chili

I’m newly obsessed with my crockpot. I love to cook, but often don’t have the time (or energy) to cook multiple days a week. I’ve found that when I don’t feel like cooking, I often defer to an unhealthy choice, like takeout pizza or sandwiches. Enter the crockpot: I can cook a few days worth of food for me and Sam, with enough to freeze at least 1-2 days worth of leftovers. Now, when I’m not sure what to eat, I can pull out something from the freezer instead of running off Mellow Mushroom.

This turkey chili has become a fan-favorite around our house. It was inspired by Gina from Skinnytaste’s Kid-Friendly turkey chili, but I added beans to give it more protein, and switched out tomato sauce for tomato paste to make it thicker.

Ingredients:

  • 20 oz (one package) ground turkey breast (99% fat-free)
    • You can also use 93% fat-free, but it will increase the calorie counts
  • Adobo seasoning, to taste
    • I use the Goya brand – you can find it in the Hispanic aisle of most supermarkets
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
    • Can substitute for any stoplight pepper – whatever is in your fridge!
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
    • I typically freeze chopped onions, so I normally eye-ball the amounts. You want equal parts chopped onion and diced pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
    • I have a jar of minced garlic in my fridge and often eyeball this as well. I like a lot of garlic, so I usually add a spoonful or more.
  • 1 can (10 oz) diced tomatoes with chilies
    • Can use Rotel or the store brand
    • The last time I made this, I used the rest of a 1/2 can of Tuttorosso diced tomatoes and 1 4 oz can of diced chilies
  • 1 can (8 oz) tomato paste
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernels
  • 1 can (15.5 oz) Goya kidney beans
    • You can use any brand, but I prefer Goya. You can also substitute with black beans, garbanzo beans, pink beans – again, whatever is in your pantry!
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth

Directions:

  1. In a large, nonstick skillet or caldero (a pot similar to cast iron frequently used in Latin kitchens – can find at Macy’s under the Amusa brand), heat the pan to medium-hot.
  2. Season the turkey breast with Adobo seasoning – I typically season generously, especially since the crockpot tends to mute flavors.
  3. Add the turkey to the pan, breaking up with a wooden spoon, until browned all over (7-10 minutes). Add to crockpot.
  4. In the still-hot pan, add the oil. Add the garlic, onion, and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until onions are translucent and peppers are soft, about 5-10 minutes. Turn off heat and add mixture to crockpot.
  5. Stir in tomatoes, tomato paste, frozen corn, and beans to crockpot.
  6. Add seasonings and stir. Then add chicken broth.
  7. Cook 4 hours on high or 8 hours on low.

You can eat this chili alone, or serve over a baked potato or sweet potato with frozen some frozen broccoli in cheese sauce for a healthy loaded sweet potato. The chili alone is 5 WeightWatchers SmartPoints; with 1/2 cup sweet potato + 1 serving broccoli in cheese sauce, makes for a 9SP but very filling lunch or dinner!

Leave a Reply

